Coolwebs Blog

Remove your name from Facebook social ads

Remove your name from Facebook social ads

Checked your facebook page lately and seen that you are apparently telling everyone that you like a brand or product that you have never clicked like on, let alone even heard of? Don’t worry, you are not the only one. The Facebook juggernaut continues to steamroll users rights to privacy whilst giving them superficial control measures and conducting secret ballots/votes re: The recent Facebook governance vote. What??? May you ask…yes again Facebook has been quick to assume that we have expressly declared that it is ok to data mine us and act as pawns in its global scheme of world domination…..well maybe that seems a bit apocolyptic but I’m sure you know where this is going.

Back on track, anyway you may have noticed that your friends are quite regularly promoting a product as well. Do you think they are getting paid for this spruiking??? Think again. They may have (they may have NOT) liked this product/service in the past and now they are unwittingly advertising this brand entity to all their friends on Facebook.

Well now is the time to stop this! Luckily there are settings that you can turn off in FB so you don’t become a human billboard:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account on the Web.

Step 2: Open the small menu with the down arrow to the right of your name in the top right-hand corner and select Account Settings.

Step 3: On the left-hand side, choose Facebook Ads from the list.

Step 4: Click the link at the bottom that says Edit social ads setting.

Step 5: Select No One from the drop-down list on the next page and press Save Changes.

After this adjustment you’ll stop sharing information about your interests with everyone on your friends list.

Posted in: Cool resources, Hot tips, Social media news

Leave a Comment (0) ↓

Leave a Comment